Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives

Affiliated Organizations

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA)

NRECA is the national service organization for more than 900 not-for-profit rural electric cooperatives and public power districts providing retail electric service to more than 42 million consumers in 47 states and whose retail sales account for approximately 12 percent of total electricity sales in the United States.

Iowa Area Development Group (IADG)

The Iowa Area Development Group was formed by rural electric cooperatives and municipal electric utilities to attract new businesses and industries into the communities served by the participating utilities and to assist in the expansion of existing businesses and industries.

National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation (CFC)

CFC is a member-owned, not-for-profit cooperative. It was organized in 1969 to raise funds from the capital markets to supplement the loan programs for electric cooperatives offered by the Rural Utilities Service (RUS), previously Rural Electrification Administration (REA). Together, CFC and its affiliates, the National Cooperative Services Corporation (NCSC) and the Rural Telephone Finance Cooperative (RTFC), provide financing to member organizations and affiliates in 49 states, the District of Columbia and two U.S. territories.

National Rural Telecommunications Cooperative (NRTC)

NRTC provides products and services developed specifically to meet the needs of rural utilities and their customers, such as high-speed Internet access via satellite, full service Internet access and support, integrated smart grid technologies and energy efficiency solutions, wireless technologies, long distance programs, mobile phone service, IP backbone services, and programming distribution rights for video providers. NRTC represents the advanced telecommunications and information technology interests of 1,500 rural utilities and affiliates in 48 states.

Touchstone Energy®

The Touchstone Energy brand represents a nationwide alliance of 750 local, consumer-owned electric cooperatives in 46 states. Championing the cause for lowest-cost, democratically governed energy, Touchstone Energy provides a unified face for the small businesses that own and service rural America’s 2.5 million miles of power line. Co-ops that become members of the Touchstone brand gain access to a wealth of advertising stock, education and training tools, member benefit programs, and web development resources. By working jointly, the network of small cooperatives that make up Touchstone Energy generate services that would normally require the resources of a national corporation.

Federated Rural Electric Insurance Exchange 

Based in Lenexa, Kansas, Federated provides insurance services to the nation's electric cooperatives.

We are committed to providing safe, reliable, affordable & environmentally responsible power to 650,000 Iowans.

© 2016 IAEC. All rights reserved.