Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives


The Touchstone Energy Cooperatives of Iowa value human energy and appreciate the people who make our communities better. That’s why we’re launching a new contest to celebrate community volunteers this summer.

Called Shine the Light, this contest is an opportunity for the employees and member-consumers of Iowa’s electric cooperatives to nominate someone who has made a positive impact in their community. In addition to being recognized in Living with Energy in Iowa magazine, the person you nominate could be one of three winners who will receive a $1,500 donation for their charity or community organization. 

Online applications for Shine the Light will be accepted during the month of June on this webpage. Check back starting on June 1 to nominate a deserving volunteer in your community. 

Employees and member-consumers of Iowa’s electric co-ops are eligible to nominate community volunteers. If you receive electricity from an Iowa electric cooperative, you are a member-consumer and eligible to nominate. The volunteer being nominated does not need to be a member-consumer of an electric cooperative. Minors may be nominated with permission/consent from their parents or legal guardians.

Click here to review the contest rules and eligibility requirements.

A judging panel will select three Iowa winners who will each receive a $1,500 check for their local charity or organization. The winners will be announced during the Iowa State Fair in the newly renovated Rastetter 4-H Building in August. Additionally, the winners will be featured in the September issue of Living with Energy in Iowa magazine, which is mailed out monthly to over 54,000 co-op member-consumer households and businesses.

For additional information, please contact Erin Campbell, director of communications for the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives.

Iowa's locally owned electric cooperatives are committed to providing safe, reliable, affordable & environmentally responsible power to 650,000 Iowans.

© 2021 IAEC. All rights reserved.