Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives


The Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives is comprised of 49 members, including 39 distribution cooperatives which deliver electricity directly to member-consumers and 9 generation & transmission cooperatives (G&Ts) which generate and transmit electricity to distribution co-ops. 

Not-for-profit cooperatives are owned by the members they serve and are locally governed by elected directors. Collectively, the electric cooperatives of Iowa power the lives of 650,000 people throughout all 99 counties.

For help finding which local electric co-op serves your location, click here.

Click here for a detailed map of Iowa's electrical service area boundaries.

Scroll down below the map to find the websites of electric distribution cooperatives serving Iowans.


IAEC Members:

Access Energy Cooperative
Allamakee-Clayton Electric Cooperative
Associated Electric Cooperative, Inc.
Atchison-Holt Electric Cooperative (MO) *
Basin Electric Power Cooperative
Boone Valley Electric Cooperative
Butler County Rural Electric Cooperative
Calhoun County Electric Cooperative Association
Central Iowa Power Cooperative (CIPCO)
Chariton Valley Electric Cooperative
Clarke Electric Cooperative, Inc. 
Consumers Energy
Corn Belt Power Cooperative
Dairyland Power Cooperative
East-Central Iowa Rural Electric Cooperative
Eastern Iowa Light & Power Cooperative
Farmers Electric Cooperative, Inc. (Greenfield)
Farmers Electric Cooperative (Kalona)
Franklin Rural Electric Cooperative
Grundy County Rural Electric Cooperative
Grundy Electric Cooperative, Inc. (MO) *
Guthrie County Rural Electric Cooperative
Harrison County Rural Electric Cooperative
Heartland Power Cooperative

Iowa Area Development Group *
Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative
L&O Power Cooperative
Linn County Rural Electric Cooperative
Lyon Rural Electric Cooperative
Maquoketa Valley Electric Cooperative
Midland Power Cooperative
MiEnergy Cooperative

Nishnabotna Valley Rural Electric Cooperative
North Central Missouri Electric Cooperative (MO) *
North West Rural Electric Cooperative
Northeast Missouri Electric Power Cooperative
Northwest Iowa Power Cooperative (NIPCO)
N.W. Electric Power Cooperative, Inc. (MO) *
Osceola Electric Cooperative, Inc. 
Pella Cooperative Electric Association
Pleasant Hill Community Line
Prairie Energy Cooperative
Raccoon Valley Electric Cooperative
Southern Iowa Electric Cooperative, Inc. 
Southwest Iowa Rural Electric Cooperative
T.I.P. Rural Electric Cooperative
United Electric Cooperative (MO)
Western Iowa Power Cooperative (WIPCO)
Woodbury County Rural Electric Cooperative

* denotes an Associate Member of IAEC (non-voting)


Other Affiliated Organizations:

Hawkeye Insurance Association
IAEC Health Care Plan
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA)
National Rural Telecommunications Cooperative (NRTC)
National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation (CFC)
Touchstone Energy

Iowa's locally owned electric cooperatives are committed to providing safe, reliable, affordable & environmentally responsible power to 650,000 Iowans.

© 2024 IAEC. All rights reserved.