Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives

Eastern Iowa Light & Power Cooperative annual meeting

September 6, 2013

Our annual meeting was held yesterday at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds in Davenport. Following the annual meeting yesterday, the Cooperative’s board of directors met during a re-organizational meeting. The following directors were elected as officers: Mike Shuger, president; Nancy Varner, vice president; Joel Carstensen, treasurer; Larry Rice, secretary; and David Timmerman, assistant secretary. Directors, elected earlier this summer at our district meetings officially began their terms in office. These include: Jim Roling, Preston; Allan Duffe, Wilton; Nancy Varner, Blue Grass; Tom Hotz, Lone Tree; Gary Kester, Burlington; and Kathy Wunderlich, Burlington. Wunderlich is new to our board replacing retiring director Wayne Tolander. The others are all incumbent directors.

The annual meeting attendance was up by 39% with 1,362 memberships registered. The Washington County Cattlemen served approximately 2,490 meals. The vocal band “Home Free” provided the musical entertainment, while the featured speaker was comedian Scott Novotny. Tim Coonan, director of government relations with the IAEC, addressed the annual meeting audience regarding a recent FEMA policy change that would affect the Cooperative’s ability to seek FEMA funding for disaster-related damages in the future. Cooperative members were asked to sign postcards that will be delivered to our legislators in Washington, D.C. asking FEMA to work with electric cooperatives to fairly resolve this issue.

Jim Williams
Communications Director
Eastern Iowa Light & Power Cooperative
Wilton, IA

« Back

Iowa's locally owned electric cooperatives are committed to providing safe, reliable, affordable & environmentally responsible power to 650,000 Iowans.

© 2024 IAEC. All rights reserved.