Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives

Franklin REC Student Wins National Scholarship

June 29, 2017

Franklin Rural Electric Cooperative and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) today announced that Britta Becker has won the 2017 Glenn English Scholarship. This is one of five scholarships given to college students by the Glenn English National Cooperative Leadership Fund. Scholarship winners have all shown a commitment to the Seven Cooperative Principles.

“Congratulations to Britta Becker for winning this unique scholarship,” said NRECA Board President Phil Carson. “As a scholarship winner, she demonstrated a sincere appreciation for the principles that guide electric cooperatives to power and empower millions of American families and businesses. I’m looking forward to great things in her future.”

“We’re very excited that Britta, a member of our cooperative family, has won this prestigious award,” said Franklin Rural Electric Cooperative General Manager Becky Bradburn. “It’s very gratifying to see one of our cooperative Youth Tour participants continue to distinguish herself in such a meaningful way.”

Becker attends Iowa State University. Her scholarship award was $1,000.

A panel of judges evaluated applicants based on their GPA, internships, extra-curricular activities, leadership and involvement in cooperative programs. To be considered for the scholarship, applicants must:

  • Have participated in NRECA’s Youth Tour.
  • Be full-time students.
  • Have completed one year of study at their respective institutions.

A tireless consumer advocate and former CEO of NRECA, Glenn English spent his career championing the cooperative business model and fighting to improve the quality of life for all Americans.

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association is the national service organization that represents the nation’s more than 900 not-for-profit, consumer-owned electric cooperatives, which provide service to 42 million people in 47 states.

For More Information:

Erin Campbell, IAEC Director of Communications

« Back

Iowa's locally owned electric cooperatives are committed to providing safe, reliable, affordable & environmentally responsible power to 650,000 Iowans.

© 2024 IAEC. All rights reserved.