Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives

Press Release

January 15, 2020

Nearly 200 directors, managers and employees from Iowa’s electric cooperatives discussed priorities with more than 80 state legislators on January 14 during the annual Welcome Back Legislative Reception in downtown Des Moines.

Read More

December 9, 2019

With the theme of “The Power of Cooperative Commitment,” the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives (IAEC) conducted its 2019 annual meeting in West Des Moines with more than 400 attendees on Dec. 5 and 6. Board directors and senior staff from Iowa’s locally owned rural electric cooperatives attended the one-and-a-half day meeting, where they had an opportunity to hear from IAEC Board President Steve Seidl and IAEC Executive Vice President and General Manager Chuck Soderberg.

Read More

October 29, 2019

Twelve volunteer linemen from electric cooperatives in Iowa, Illinois and Wisconsin recently returned from an international project called “Partners for a Brighter Tomorrow.” The group worked for 16 days to build out infrastructure to electrify 42 households, a school, a health outpost and a church in a rural north-central Guatemalan village. The team worked in conjunction with the NRECA International foundation which has implemented electrification programs across the globe for over 50 years.

Read More

September 27, 2019

Earlier this week, 37 electric cooperative representatives flew to Washington, D.C. to participate in the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives annual Fall Legislative Fly-In. Iowa electric cooperative managers, directors and employees spent three days sharing the electric cooperative story with legislators and policymakers.

Read More

April 11, 2019

More than 70 linemen from Iowa’s electric cooperatives are heading north to help neighboring electric co-ops as they work to restore power following Winter Storm Wesley. The storm delivered substantial ice accumulations and high winds along Iowa’s northern border and throughout Minnesota, causing broken poles and ice-packed conductor wire to fall to the ground. Overburdened branches and broken trees have also caused outages. High winds have made progress difficult today as linemen battle the elements to restore power as quickly and safely as possible.

As of 4:00 p.m., just over 4,400 meters served by Iowa’s electric cooperatives are without power, with most being located along the state’s northern border. View live outage updates from Iowa’s electric cooperatives at  For those who are without power, contact your local electric cooperative or power utility directly to report your outage and to receive progress updates. Find photos of damage and updates on our Facebook page at 

Read More

May 4, 2018

Iowa’s electric cooperatives thank the Iowa Legislature for passing Senate File 2311, and we applaud Governor Kim Reynolds for signing the legislation into law earlier today. The legislation includes several sections which are beneficial to cooperative member-owners, especially with regard to rate affordability. 

Read More

March 14, 2018

The sun was shining brightly as more than 200 rural electric cooperative (REC) employees and directors, representing 38 co-ops, traveled to the Iowa State Capitol on March 14 to advocate on behalf of their member-owners during their annual REC Day on the Hill event. With the proposed Energy Omnibus Bill working its way through the House, co-ops met with legislators to discuss regulatory parity and clarity in addition to maintaining fair and affordable rates. Iowa’s electric co-ops support efficiency programs that are cost-effective. The co-ops also strongly support a utility’s ability to recover fixed costs associated with providing safe, reliable service, ensuring that all co-op members pay equitably to use and maintain the electric grid.

Read More

December 1, 2017

With the theme of “Building Legacy through Leadership,” the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives (IAEC) celebrated its milestone 75th anniversary with more than 600 attendees at its annual meeting in West Des Moines on Nov. 30 and Dec. 1. Board directors and senior staff from dozens of Iowa’s not-for-profit rural electric cooperatives attended the one-and-a-half day meeting, where they had an opportunity to hear from Scott Pruitt, administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), who was introduced by EPA Region 7 Administrator Jim Gulliford on Friday morning. Pruitt sat with IAEC Executive Vice President Chuck Soderberg on stage for 45 minutes, answering questions about how the EPA is providing flexibility and certainty to power suppliers through a common-sense regulatory framework under the Trump Administration. 

Read More

September 11, 2017

In the electric industry, Mother Nature’s worst brings out our best, and the same can be said in Hurricane Irma’s wake. Earlier this morning, 46 linemen and 26 vehicles from fifteen of Iowa’s not-for-profit electric cooperatives headed out to Okefenoke Rural Electric Membership Corporation in southeast Georgia to help restore extensive power outages caused by Hurricane Irma. As of Monday morning, Okefenoke REMC reported that 95% of its electric system was offline. The Iowa linemen will provide needed manpower and assistance to make repairs and restore electricity as safely and as quickly as possible along the Florida-Georgia line. Based on initial damage reports, the Iowa linemen could be in Georgia for two weeks or longer if needed.

Read More

June 29, 2017

Franklin Rural Electric Cooperative and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) today announced that Britta Becker has won the 2017 Glenn English Scholarship. This is one of five scholarships given to college students by the Glenn English National Cooperative Leadership Fund. Scholarship winners have all shown a commitment to the Seven Cooperative Principles.

Read More
of 7
Showing 1-10 of 66

« Back

Iowa's locally owned electric cooperatives are committed to providing safe, reliable, affordable & environmentally responsible power to 650,000 Iowans.

© 2020 IAEC. All rights reserved.