Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives

Iowa’s electric cooperatives applaud Governor’s support for utility-owned solar

June 26, 2015

Earlier today, Iowa Governor Terry Branstad signed into law House File 645, which, among other things, increases the tax credit capacity for utility solar projects by 10 megawatts. Iowa’s not-for-profit electric cooperatives have been supportive of the legislation and are pleased at the outcome.

“Across the state, electric cooperatives have been working to integrate solar power to benefit our member-consumers. This bill will help member-owned co-ops continue in their mission to provide power that is safe, affordable, reliable, and environmentally responsible,” said Marion Denger, board president of the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives. “We’re grateful for the support of the Governor and the legislature as electric cooperatives develop utility-owned solar in Iowa.”

The new HF 645 law represents an incentive-based approach to renewable energy that will ultimately allow co-op member-consumers to benefit from utility-owned solar energy.

About IAEC
The Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives represents the interests of not-for-profit electric cooperatives, including 34 distribution co-ops and 7 generation and transmission co-ops. Owned by the members they serve, Iowa’s electric cooperatives power the lives of 650,000 Iowans throughout all 99 counties and are committed to delivering power that is safe, reliable, affordable and environmentally responsible. Formed in 1942, IAEC provides many vital functions for its members including legislative representation, regulatory oversight, training and education services, safety programs, and communications support. Learn more at

# # #

For More Information:

Erin Campbell
IAEC communications manager
515-727-8945 office

« Back

Iowa's locally owned electric cooperatives are committed to providing safe, reliable, affordable & environmentally responsible power to 650,000 Iowans.

© 2024 IAEC. All rights reserved.